How To Secure Your Facebook Timeline

How To Secure Your Facebook Timeline

There’s a lot of buzz about the new Facebook Timeline feature. The new Facebook timeline makes your profile look a lot more newspaper-like and lets you take a look down memory lane in an instant.So what are the security and privacy implications of the Facebook Timeline? First and foremost, the timeline lets your friends and, depending on your privacy settings, complete strangers view a digital comprehensive history of your life.Law enforcement, potential employers, stalkers, and others who review Facebook profiles will absolutely love the timeline as they can navigate life histories with ease.While most all of your existing privacy settings are maintained in the Timeline view, there are some settings that you may want to change to make it more secure.
Let’s take a look at a couple of steps you can take to make your Facebook Timeline a little safer and more private.

1. Make All Your Past Posts on Your Timeline Accessible to Friends Only

When you first started using Facebook, you may have had more relaxed privacy settings than you do now. As a result, some of your older posts may be more public than you want them to be especially since the timeline lets people navigate your older posts with ease.

Rather than having to review the privacy status of each post, Facebook has a feature called “Limit the Audience for Past Posts”. This button will change all of your past posts from their current state to “Friends Only”. This is a global change which may impact pictures, videos and other posts that you had previously made public. These items will now be “Friends Only” but if friends are tagged in them then friends of friends may still be able to see them.

To enable the “Limit the Audience for Pasts Posts” feature:

1. Log into Facebook and click on the arrow at the top right corner of the page.
2. Choose “Privacy Settings” from the drop-down menu.
3. Click the link that says “Manage Past Post Availability”.
You will then be presented with a warning that states: “If you use this tool, content on your timeline you’ve shared with friends of friends or Public will change to Friends.
4. Click the “Limit Old Posts” button to confirm the permissions change.

2. Set Your Default Privacy Setting for Future Timeline Posts

Whenever you post something on Facebook in the timeline or otherwise, your default posting permissions are used.You can customize your default setting for all future posts in the privacy settings menu. Here’s how to do it:
1. Click the arrow in the top right corner of the screen and choose “Privacy Settings” from the drop-down menu.
2. In the middle of the page, you will see a section titled “Control Your Default Privacy”, choose either “Friends” or “Custom” to select individuals or groups lists. I recommend you DO NOT choose “public” as this lets the world see all of your future posts.

3. Consider Enabling The Timeline Review And Tag Review Features

There are things that you should never post on facebook. Wouldn’t it be nice if you could decide whether or not you wanted something to appear on your Timeline before it was published?
1. Click the arrow in the top right corner of the screen and choose “Privacy Settings” from the drop-down menu.
2. Click the “Edit Settings” link in the “How Tags Work” section.
3. From the pop-up menu that appears, click the “Off >” link.
4. Click the “Disabled” button from the pop-up window and set it to “Enabled”.
5. Click the “Back” button at the bottom of the pop-up window.
6. Choose the “Off >” link from the “Tag Review” section of the pop-up and repeat the steps above to enable Tag Review.

As the Facebook timeline feature matures, there will likely be other privacy settings added or modified, You should check your Privacy Settings page every so often to see what’s new.

Article By – Harshita C. Jadhav

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *